top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeano Smith

Synoptic WIP (Project Scum)

Updated: Jun 10, 2021


Play the Game:

Gantt Chart:

At the beginning of our projects we started out in a scrum environment by having a meeting every week and eventually transitioned into scrumban where it was more relaxed.


Risk Assessment:






Week Starting 18th of Jan:

Concept Art and Playboard from this week and the week before.


WEEK 2 (Jan 25):


I created a bunch of concept designs for hats for our game, I also made a design for what the game will look like and include (Playboard?)


WEEK 3 (Feb 1):


These are concepts for potential enemies for our game, a Spider, Bat, Rat and a Slug. We chose to include the rat in the game


WEEK 4 (Feb 8): Title name chosen and design of scum chosen


These are the title designs and mechanics page. the title I liked the most was the bottom left one and may become the actual logo, the mechanic page was made to show off all the different ways the game could be played.


WEEK 5 (Feb 22): UI Designs and a Customization screen design


Out of all of these the second one is what my group liked the most, so that is the one I will develop further and turn into the final User Interface.

WEEK 5:


WEEK 6:

WEEK 7 (March 1): Another playboard made and menu screen designs


WEEK 8 (March 8): Creating more titles and finalizing the design, also tried more menu screen designs


WEEK 9 (March 15): This week I started on the UI.

These are the numbers that will be used for the timer. Numbers 0-9.

These are assets for the Ui that shows the power what Mass they are. Starting with simple green circles, then proceeding to add a bit of detail to them.

This is the state of the UI at the moment, the top left is the timer which has a slime aesthetic/vibe, and the bottom right is the mass indicator which show the player what size their scum is, Small, Medium or Large. And finally the top middle is just the objective and shows the player what must be done.

So far I have added two buttons one for playing the game and one for quitting, they both have a melting/dripping slime vibe to it, I am yet to make and add the logo and add moving slime to make the background of the menu that much nicer.


WEEK 10 (March 15th): Customization Menu

WEEK 11 (March 22nd): Logo creation begun, 2D assets for customization menu created, Digital Playboard completed.

This is the logo so far, its a slime trail with the name of the title in it with the scum just to the right to show that the trail was made by it.

This is the playboard I created to showcase all the mechanics that our game includes.

And this is a 3D one:



These are the 2d assets that will be shown when selecting what hat the player wants to use.

These are what is going to show when the player is selecting a colour, 10 currently to choose from.


WEEK 12 (29th March):


I made some changes to the UI, the font has been changed, and the timer was made a bit smaller.


WEEK 15 (April 19th):

I made two more screens, one for pausing the game, and another which is a game over screen for when the player either dies or runs out of time. I made the background of each a gray colour with the opacity at 50% so the game is still visible when paused or ended, until the play clicks a button.

Then we decided to add a collectible, which is a trash can that the play must collect, 3 in total. This is the asset I made for the UI to show the player how many they have collected.

This is the new and improved UI, now with the trash collectible included, I also deleted the Goal text because I didn't really like how it looked.

I also changed the mass assets to make it cleaner by changing the hand drawn letters to actual text.

I was told that I didn't need any text because that can be added in unreal, so I removed it as shown above. It also means that the buttons made can be used for both screens because they're exactly the same

I also made a different version of these buttons which are used when the player clicks on a button to show its being pressed.

This is the main menu screen, the title is going to have an animation which Dwight will add to it, it well fluctuate in size to add a bit of life to it. I also may try and take the logo into after effects to make the words wiggle a bit to show its slimy and a liquid.

This is the screen that will appear when the player has made it to the end of the level, The reason for a timer is so it entices players to replay the game to get a better and faster score, while collecting all the trash cans on the way.

This is what will show when a player completes the level and has collected and trash can along the way.

This is the Clicked version of the play again and quit buttons for the completion screen which will appear briefly when clicked. When I made the buttons they were originally a different colour, but I realized it didn't match the other buttons so I changed it.


WEEK 16 (26th of April):


These are the hat icons that I have made which will appear on the customization screen when the play is deciding what they want to wear, They are not all done yet, and and I will neaten them up after once I have done them all.


Hats so far:

-Top Hat

-Egg

-Glasses

-The elvis

-Duck

-Devil Horns

-Crown

-Cowboy Hat

-Viking Hat


I have also made the icons for the eye colour selection:

There is a same amount of eye colors as there is skin colors:

I have now completed two my hat icons:

A chef hat and a Mario inspired Scum hat.


WEEK 18 (3rd of May):


I am now starting on the sound effects, here is a list of all that is needed (unless I forgot any):

Reverb^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^


I helped Dwight identify a problem he was having with the customization menu, where you could only switch the different parts in a specific order, so to fix it he made it so the different sections of customization appeared in an order that worked, once chosen, the next option appeared


These are a bunch of sounds that I found on the website 'Freesound' that I thought would fit the game, consisting of a lot of slimey sounds, sewer sounds, interactions etc:

Sounds
.zip
Download ZIP • 29.52MB

Final Sounds-

(I added reverb to almost all of these sounds to show that the environment is echoey)


Environment Sounds


I then went into audition to edit some sounds together to and create a soundscape, so far im in the process of doing a Background / Environment sound. The sound consists of, running water, water droplets, pipe system, and flickering lights.

Finished Background Environment
.zip
Download ZIP • 20.58MB

For this sound I got three different audios from online and went into audition and edited them together, the three sounds being; a sewer environment, a light flicker, and pipe systems, then I adjusted the sound of the pipe system first because it was overpowering the others, it about 58 seconds long and should loop while the game is in play.


Interaction Sounds


Water Death


I created a sound for when the player falls into the sewage water, to make it sound like its toxic I added a sizzle as if the scum has dissolved, also a plop sound to signify something has fallen into a watery liquid.

Water Death
.zip
Download ZIP • 603KB

To make this one, I got two sounds, one a a plop into water, the other a sizzle, a placed the plop first, with the sizzle immediately after the plop ends to show the water is toxic and dangerous


Stretch


A sound for stretching has also been made, which is for when the player consumes / collects a scum pile. This is for both shrinking and growing.

Stretch Sound
.zip
Download ZIP • 129KB

I took a sound of something being stretched, maybe a balloon, and shortened it just so I had something that sounded like slime and was quick for when the player collected a scum pile.


Trampoline


A simple springy sound to be added to a trampoline when a player lands on it to show that its bouncy.

Trampoline Boing
.zip
Download ZIP • 434KB

This sound I barely edited at all I only added some reverb because it was fine as it was.


Crate Destroy


This sound is for when a player (when at large mass) breaks some crates to open different routes.

Crate Destroy
.zip
Download ZIP • 584KB

This sound I didn't really edit either, because it was fine as it was, reverb was added though.


Player Sounds


Slime Walk


For this sound I searched for something that was slimy and moist sounding, almost as if it was a slug, which is what the scum player mostly represents. In reality its just someone playing with slime.

Slime Walk
.zip
Download ZIP • 1.56MB

Slime being played with, which could also be used as a walking sound for a slime / slug.


Slime Jump


This sound is just a simple swoosh to signify the player launching into the air.

Slime Jump
.zip
Download ZIP • 42KB

Nothing was changed, quick simple sound for jumping.


Slime Landing


A splat that plays when the player has landed after executing a jump, a simple thud sound.

Slime Landing
.zip
Download ZIP • 46KB

Another quick sound, not edited.


Enemy Sounds


Rat Walk


Some light tapping from an animal that I am using for the rat enemy, quiet but noticeable if you listen.

Rat Walk
.zip
Download ZIP • 4.25MB

For this I took a tapping sound probably from a dog, and copied and pasted it a few times for a long walk sound, when there is a rat enemy in game / near you.


Rat Death


Squealing that will be played when the player kills the rat, player must have a large mass to kill.

Rat Death
.zip
Download ZIP • 599KB

I had quite a few different squeaking and squealing sounds, but some were a bit too cartoony, so I chose this one, then edited it down to a part where it sounds like its yelling for help.


Menu Sounds


Button Click


Simple sound that occurs when the player clicks something in the menus, Buttons etc.

Button Click
.zip
Download ZIP • 122KB

a quick simple tap / click sound for when the player navigates the menus, not edited at all (no reverb)


WEEK 18 (10th of May):


Jingles / Music

(made with garage band)


For this, since I don't have much experience with garage band, and music in general, I just went through a bunch of instruments and tested them out to see if they were good, then I just made a bunch of jingles, which shockingly didn't sound as bad as I thought they would.


JINGLES AND MUSIC
.zip
Download ZIP • 7.59MB

Collection Jingle


Collection Jingle
.zip
Download ZIP • 427KB

I made a sound which represents something rare being collected, in this case a trash can, three of which can be found within the level, and if all are found will give the player a bonus in score. However this sound only plays for the first two that are collected, a special sound is played once the third and final is collected.



Pause Jingle


Pause Jingle
.zip
Download ZIP • 353KB

This is just a fast sound to notify the player when they have paused the game.



Win Jingle

Win Jingle
.zip
Download ZIP • 1.03MB

Win sound with happy sounding piano titled 'Shimmering Bells' to give a sense of accomplishment when the play completes the level.



Game Over Jingle 1

Game Over 1
.zip
Download ZIP • 531KB

Inspired by traditional gameover / defeat jingles but made with my own spin to it including some deep bass each not lowering in pitch.



Game Over Jingle 2

Game Over 2
.zip
Download ZIP • 726KB

This is another Game over sound which I liked equally as much as the other, so we decided to include it, but only to be played on a rare occasion, also including some bass to signify something intense happening / going wrong.



Euphoric Menu Music

Euphoric Menu Music
.zip
Download ZIP • 2.81MB

This was the easiest to make, but also one of the coolest, as I was testing out the different keyboard, I came across this one, which each key plays its own tune,



Extra Jingle 1

Extra Jingle 1
.zip
Download ZIP • 1.09MB

This sound originally was not intended for use, but then we decided to add it to when the player collects the third and final trash can.



Extra Jingle 2


Extra Jingle 2
.zip
Download ZIP • 631KB

At the moment this is not being used, although there is talks of a secret rat collectible that could be added, with this sound being played when it collects.


WEEK 19 (May 17th):


This week I have started creating Decals, which are basically stickers that is going into the game to add more life to environment.


Here are what I have created so far:


-A warning sign, danger


-Electrical Warning sign



-Health and Safety Poster for the toxic water



-A poster of the sewer



-A Warning Poster For Rats



-King Rat Poster



-Slime Puddle



-Slime Wall Splash



-Vine Creation 1



-Vine Creation 2



-Vine Creation 3



I then updated the UI because Luca suggested have the score visible while the game is in play:


I have now gotten a sound for a laser which is for the king rat that shoots them at you:

Laser
.zip
Download ZIP • 200KB

When I first got the sound it was three repeating zapping sounds, which I edited down to one and reverbed it.


I also made two more graffiti decals:


-Ice Cream

-Eye Ball


I made some decals for the boss fight area:


-Turn Back Writing

-Help Writing

-Danger Writing


-Sad Face

-Rats Writing

-Slime Dripping 1

-Slime Dripping 2

-Slime Splat

-Slip Drip

-Danger Poster 1

-Danger Poster 2

-Danger Sign

-Scratch

FINAL WEEK (24th of May):


This week is for finishing things off and polishing. I created a Health bar for the King Rat boss at the end of the level, one full and on empty.


RISK ASSESSMENT:

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page